South African AeroPress Championship 2017 - registration details...

South African AeroPress Championship 2017 - registration details...

Regular price R 0


We are proud to be hosting the 2017 South African AeroPress Championship.  

Date: Sunday, July 2, 2017 @ 11am. General public attendance is free.

Location: Espresso Lab Microroasters, The Old Biscuit Mill, 375 Albert Road, Woodstock, Cape Town. 

Registration for entrants is open until 14 June, 2017. 

Please send an email to with the following information for registration:

Subject: SA Aeropress Championship 2017 registration

Full Name

City of residence

Telephone number

Please state if you are competing as an independent or representing a coffee company or cafe. Once registration closes no more entries will be accepted.

On June 15, 2017 a total of 18 competitors will be chosen randomly (out of a “hat”) from those whom registered.

Competition Fee: ZAR250, limited to 18 competitors.  

Coffee: Alirio Munoz, Colombia (Caturra, Washed) roasted by Espresso Lab Microroasters. 

Competition rules: The rules are pretty straight forward. The judges will evaluate (blind) purely based on taste. We want the competition to be as transparent, fun and freestyle as possible. That is the reason we will have the same predetermined coffee for all competitors so that the judging will be based on the style of brewing, and not on the coffee. 

Each competitor will get a bag of coffee to practice with, and will receive another bag on the day of the competition.

Competitors are welcome to bring their own grinder, kettle, scale, water and/or other equipment, however a set competition kit of  Baratza grinder, Bonavita kettle, Brewista scales, and of course Aerobie AeroPress will be available for all competitors to use on the day of the competition. Competitors are welcome to bring their own non standard filters (paper or metal). No modifications to the AeroPress allowed.  

There will be 18 competitors. 6 rounds of 3 competitors per round in the preliminary rounds. 1 winner from each round will go through to the semi-finals. There will be 2 semi-finals with 3 competitors in each round. The 2 winners will go head to head in the final round.

The running list of competitors will be selected at random and will be announced on the day of competition.

The judges for the event will be the following; 

#1 Renato Correia, Espresso Lab Microroasters 

#2 Annemarie Robertson, Top Chef South Africa winner 

#3 Winston Thomas, South African AeroPress champion 2016

There will be an auction after the competition with amazing prizes/coffee products/experiences where all the proceeds will go towards sending the winner to South Korea to compete in the World AeroPress Championship.

For further details regarding the competition, please refer to the World AeroPress Competition website; World AeroPress Championship