2017 South African AeroPress Championship...

We are proud to be hosting the 2017 South African AeroPress Championship. 

The event will take place on Sunday, July 2, 2017 @ 11am. General public are free to attend, entrance is free. 

Location: Espresso Lab Microroasters, The Old Biscuit Mill, 375 Albert Road, Woodstock, Cape Town. 

The rules of the competition are pretty straight forward. The judges will evaluate (blind) purely based on taste. We want the competition to be as transparent, fun and freestyle as possible. That is the reason we will have the same predetermined coffee for all competitors so that the judging will be based on the style of brewing, and not on the coffee.

There will be 18 competitors. 6 rounds of 3 competitors per round in the preliminary rounds. 1 winner from each round will go through to the semi-finals. There will be 2 semi-finals with 3 competitors in each round. The 2 winners will go head to head in the final round.

The running list of competitors will be selected at random and will be announced on the day of competition.

The judges for the event will be the following; 

#1 Renato Correia, Espresso Lab Microroasters 

#2 Annemarie Robertson, Top Chef South Africa winner 

#3 Winston Thomas, South African AeroPress champion 2016

There will be an auction after the competition with amazing prizes/products/experiences where all the proceeds will go towards sending the winner to South Korea to compete in the World AeroPress Championship.

For further details regarding the worldwide competition, please refer to the World AeroPress Competition webpage; World AeroPress Championship and should you be interested in competing, please visit the registration details page.